"Le château de Commanster"

A classified monument, it was built by Henri-François Baptiste, échevin à la cour de Salm et Maîeur de Gouvy.
The date of construction, 1741 figures on the front door.
The panelling, the coat of arms and the doors are remarkable.
The visitors can drink a cervoise ( beer) or can eat some pie.
Open every Friday evening, every week-end and on public holidays .
Information : M. Roland Martin, 080/21.72.90 ou 080/67.90.89.


The Hermanmont Icehouse

The icehouse was built in de 19th century. It was built to supply the Hermanmont castle of ice, which was taken out of the ponds around the castle in winter. It's a beautiful building made of typical land stones. Visits on reservation : Mr. Legros, 080 / 21.62.52

Other spots to discover :

- The St-Gengoux fountain in Vielsalm
- The ruins of the Counts of Salm castle in Salmchâteau
- The castle of Provedroux ( classified, style Louis XIV )
- The Chapel and the castle of Farnières
- The Chapels of Ennal and Tinseubois
- Typicals villages : " La Comté, Neuville, Burtonville and Ville-du-Bois
- A lot of crosses made out of land stones



Gouvy : The Scheurette Farm (XVIII century) and the church (XVIII century)


Beho : Church with it's baroque Furniture of Scholtus

Cherain : The St-Vincent church ( XI century ) and churchyard

Bistain : Old mill from the XIV century

Bovigny : Wayside and chapels of St Martin

Brisy-Rettigny : Ruins of Moudreux castle

Cierreux : Old mill and a tannery

Halconreux : Mill transformed into a shelter

Steinbach : The castles of Beurthée and Menil

Sterpigny : The farm castle (shelter)

Wathermal : The church with the churchyard

Montleban : The church's organ

For more information GOUVY

Back to leisure page